FAQ - Questions and Answers

Do you have questions about the selection and use of transformers for resistance welding and heating technology?

Here we will continuously collect new questions and answers and a lively page is to be created. We will be happy to take your suggestions on board.

Which diodes are being used by Expert?

Basically, we are using diodes from the manufacturer ABB. Exceptionally, we use for the so-called 6000 diodes, diodes from the manufacturer Semikron.

For the purpose of distinction, we have a special naming in the product types:

Naming IFAVm IFRMS IFSM Reverse voltage Type
B 7.110 A 11.200 A 55.000 A 200 V 5SDD 71X0200
C 11.350 A 17.800 A 85.000 A 400 V 5SDD 0120C0400
D 9.244 A 14.520 A 64.000 A 400 V 5SDD 92Z0401
E 13.526 A 21.247 A 85.000 A 400 V 5SDD 0135Z0401
G 10.502 A 16.496 A 74.700 A 400 V 5SDD 0105Z0401
H 10.266 A 16.125 A 57.700 A 400 V 5SDF 0103Z0401
J 13.058 A 20.512 A 70.000 A 400 V 5SDF 0131Z0401
Why are diodes subject to wear and limited life time?

Diodes are subject to wear due to the thermal alternating load. This means that with each current pulse the internal temperature of the diodes is raised from e.g. 20°C to 80°C. This is called the temperature swing. This is called the temperature swing. In this case 60K.

This means a mechanical stress due to thermal expansion. Each stroke causes tiny cracks in the crystal structure of the silicon. The number and intensity of the cracks causes wear in the diode, so that after a time x it breaks down and becomes conductive on both sides.

Together with ABB and the University of Magdeburg, Expert has developed corresponding lifetime models for this wear and depending on the temperature range and cooling, so that we are able to define corresponding load diagrams for the respective requirements.

As standard, the load diagrams are calculated for 10 million cycles. In the automotive sector, this is 15 million cycles. For requirements such as pulsed roll seam welding, we also calculate the diode load for 300 million cycles.

You will find the load diagrams in the data sheets of the transformers. You can carry out calculations for the duty cycle and also determine the operating points in our calculation tools.

What is capacitor discharge welding?

EXPERT has been developing and building pulse transformers for capacitor discharge welding for many years. The process is characterised by the fact that large amounts of energy can be introduced into the workpiece within a relatively short time ( typically 5 ms to 20 ms).

The energy for the welding process is stored on capacitor banks.

By selective discharge via a matching transformer, a current pulse is generated which welds the components together. The welding process itself is a projection welding process in most applications.

To store high amounts of energy in the capacitor, relatively high charging voltages are used. Typical charging voltages are 900 - 3300V.

Due to the high energy input, the process enables the welding of even large-sized components and critical material pairings. For example,  gear wheels for gearboxes are welded with this process for the automotive industry.

Another characteristic is the optimal energy utilisation. During the welding process, only very small heat-affected zones are created in the component. The energy used is almost exclusively  used to melt the material directly at the joint.

In systems with EXPERT transformers, welding currents of up to 1,000,000 A have already been achieved.

Another advantage of capacitor discharge welding is the relatively low mains load, as the capacitors act as an energy buffer and can be recharged evenly in the pauses between welds.

In this process, the matching transformer (impulse transformer) not only takes over the function of the optimal energy feed into the joining process. With its properties, it also decisively influences the temporal course of the welding current (pulse shape) and thus decisively influences the welding process.

How do you determine the duty cycle?

For the duty cycle calculation, one considers the ratio between the actual current time and a total cycle time. For transformers with rectifier diodes, a distinction is made between the duty cycles for the transformer and the diodes. This has to do with the thermal behaviour of the two components. As a rule, only the ratio of the current time to the point-to-point time is considered for the diodes. For the transformer, the time to the next workpiece is added, i.e. the consideration of the cycle time.

In general, integration times apply here. Formally, an integration time of 60s applies to the transformer. However, this depends on the weight of the transformer and also the internal losses. For the MF8 series, for example, we have a thermal integration time of approx. 120s.

For the diodes, an integration time of 2s applies in the literature and in the standards. We have already integrated this time into the load diagrams. Therefore, statements on the load capacity as a function of the duty cycle are also possible for current times >2s.

 

Duty cycle transformer:

Duty cycle diodes:

What is the permanent current of the transformer?

Transformers for resistance welding or also for continuous applications are designed, among other things, with regard to their maximum current load. This means that the balance of thermal losses and cooling is considered without components such as windings, insulation, casting resin ... suffer long-term damage. Thermal losses are caused by ohmic resistances and also losses in the iron core due to magnetisation processes.

The components of the transformer (primary winding, magnetic circuit, secondary winding) are dimensioned in the sense of the above-mentioned equilibrium.

In pulsed applications, such as resistance welding, one makes use of the inertia in the heating of the components and can therefore specifically overload the transformer. This overload is explicitly linked to the ratio between current time and times without current flow. This ratio is linked to the concept of duty cycle.

Due to the quadratic dependence of the losses on the current, it is easy to calculate the maximum overload as a function of the duty cycle. Since the user needs a certain current for his welding task and the transformer manufacturer has to design the transformer for the continuous current, it is necessary to calculate back and forth.

I2s - Welding current
I2p - Permanent current
X - Duty cycle

If you have a welding current and a duty cycle, you can calculate the required permanent current as follows:

If you have the continuous current of the transformer, you can calculate the maximum welding current for a given duty cycle as follows.

You are welcome to make this calculation yourself in our online calculator under the tab Welding and permanent current.

FAQ - Fragen und Antworten

Sie haben Fragen rund um die Auswahl und den Einsatz von Transformatoren für das Widerstandsschweißen und die Heiztechnik?

Hier werden wir kontiniuierlich neue Fragen und Antworten sammeln und es soll eine lebendige Seite entstehen. Wir nehmen dabei gern Ihre Anregungen auf.

Welche Dioden verwendet Expert?

Grundsätzlich verwendet EXPERT Dioden des Herstellers ABB. Die gilt bis auf die Ausnahme der sogenannten 6000er Diode, die ebenfalls von der Firma Semikron bezogen werden.
Zur Unterscheidung setzen wir unterschiedliche Kennungen bei den Produktbezeichnungen ein:

Kennung IFAVm IFRMS IFSM Sperrspannung Typ
B 7.110 A 11.200 A 55.000 A 200 V 5SDD 71X0200
C 11.350 A 17.800 A 85.000 A 400 V 5SDD 0120C0400
D 9.244 A 14.520 A 64.000 A 400 V 5SDD 92Z0401
E 13.526 A 21.247 A 85.000 A 400 V 5SDD 0135Z0401
G 10.502 A 16.496 A 74.700 A 400 V 5SDD 0105Z0401
H 10.266 A 16.125 A 57.700 A 400 V 5SDF 0103Z0401
J 13.058 A 20.512 A 70.000 A 400 V 5SDF 0131Z0401
Warum unterliegen Schweißdioden einer begrenzten Lebensdauer?

Dioden sind auf Grund der thermischen Wechselbelastung einem Verschleiß unterlegen. Dies bedeutet, dass mit jedem Strompuls die interne Temperatur der Dioden von z.B. 20°C auf 80°C angehoben wird. Dies bezeichnet man als den Temperaturhub. In diesem Fall 60K.

Dies bedeutet eine mechanische Belastung auf Grund thermischer Ausdehnung. Jeder Hub verursacht kleinste Risse im Kristallgefüge des Siliziums. Über die Anzahl und Intensität der Risse findet ein Verschleiß in der Diode statt, so dass diese nach einer Zeit x durchschlägt und beidseitig leitend wird.

Expert hat zusammen mit ABB und der Universität Magdeburg für diesen Verschleiß und in Abhängigkeit von Temperaturhub und Kühlung entsprechende Lebensdauermodelle entwickelt, so dass wir in der Lage sind entsprechende Belastungsdiagramme für jeweilige Anforderungen zu definieren.

Standardmäßig werden die Belastungsdiagramme auf 10 Millionen Zyklen berechnet. Im Automobilbereich sind dies 15 Millionen Zyklen. Für Anforderungen wie gepulstet Rollnahtschweißen berechnen wir die Diodenbelastung auch schonmal für 300 Millionen Zyklen.

Sie finden die Belastungsdiagramme in den Datenblätter der Transformatoren. Berechnungen zu Einschaltdauer und auch die Bestimmung der Arbeitspunkte können Sie in in unseren Berechungswerkzeugen vornehmen.

Was ist Kondensatorentladungsschweißen?

EXPERT entwickelt und baut seit vielen Jahren Impulstransformatoren für das Kondensatorentladungsschweißen. Das Verfahren zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass große Energiemengen innerhalb einer relativ kurzen Zeit ( typischerweise 5 ms bis 20 ms) in das Werkstück eingebracht werden können.

Die Energie für den Schweißprozess wird auf Kondensatorbänken gespeichert.

Durch gezielte Entladung über einen Anpasstransformator wird ein Stromimpuls erzeugt, welcher die Bauteile miteinander verschweißt. Der Schweißvorgang selbst ist in den meisten Anwendungen ein Buckelschweißprozess.

Um hohe Energiemengen im Kondensator zu speichern, werden relativ hohe Ladespannungen verwendet. Typische Ladespannungen sind 900 - 3300V.

Das Verfahren ermöglicht aufgrund der hohen Energieeinbringung das Verschweißen auch großformatiger Bauteile und kritischer Materialpaarungen. Mit diesem Verfahren werden für die Automobilindustrie z. B.  Zahnräder für Getriebe verschweißt.

Charakteristisch ist weiterhin die optimale Energieausnutzung. Beim Schweißprozessen entstehen nur sehr geringe Wärmeeinflusszonen im Bauteil. Die aufgewendete Energie wird nahezu ausschließlich  zum Aufschmelzen des Materials unmittelbar an der Verbindungsstelle genutzt.

In Anlagen mit EXPERT Transformatoren wurden dabei schon Schweißströme bis zu 1.000.000 A erreicht.

Ein weiterer Vorteil des Kondensatorentladungsschweißen ist die relativ geringe Netzbelastung, da die Kondensatoren als Energiepuffer wirken und gleichmäßig in den Pausen zwischen den Schweißungen nachgeladen werden können.

Der Anpasstransformator (Impulstransformator) übernimmt bei diesem Verfahren nicht nur die Funktion der optimalen Energieeinspeisung in den Fügeprozess. Er beeinflusst darüber hinaus mit seinen Eigenschaften entscheidend den zeitlichen Verlauf des Schweißstroms (Impulsform) und damit maßgeblich den Schweißprozesses.

Wie bestimmt man die Einschaltdauer?

Für die Einschaltdauerberechung betrachtet man das Verhältnis zwischen der eigentlichen Stromzeit zu einer gesamten Zykluszeit. Man unterscheidet bei Transformatoren mit Gleichrichterdioden die Einschaltdauern für den Transformator und die Dioden. Dies hat mit dem thermischen Verhalten der beiden Komponenten zu tun. In der Regel betrachtet man bei den Dioden nur das Verhältnis der Stromzeit mit der Punkt-zu-Punkt Zeit. Für den Transformator kommt noch die Zeit bis zum nächsten Werkstück hinzu, also die Betrachtung der Taktzeit.

Im Allgemeinen gelten dabei Integrationszeiten. Formell gilt für den Transformator eine Integrationszeit von 60s. Dies ist aber abhängig vom Gewicht des Trafos und auch den internen Verlusten. So haben wir für die Baureihe MF8 eine thermische Integrationszeit von ca. 120s.

Bei den Dioden gilt in der Literatur und in den Normen eine Integrationszeit von 2s. Wir haben diese Zeit in die Belastungsdiagramme bereits integriert. Daher sind auch für Stromzeiten >2s Aussagen zur Belastbarkeit in Abhängigkeit von der Einschaltdauer möglich.

Einschaltdauer Transformator:

Einschaltdauer Dioden:

Was ist der Dauerstrom des Transformators?

Transformatoren für das Widerstandsschweißen oder auch für Daueranwendungen werden u.a. hinsichtlich ihrer maximalen Strombelastung ausgelegt. Dies bedeutet man betrachtet das Gleichgewicht aus thermischen Verlusten und Kühlung, ohne dass Komponenten wie zum Beispiel Windungen, Isolation, Gießharz ... langfristige Schäden nehmen. Thermische Verluste entstehen durch ohmsche Widerstände und aber auch Verluste im Eisenkern durch Magnetisierungsprozesse.

Im Sinne des oben genannten Gleichgewichtes werden die Komponenten des Transformators (Primärwicklung, Magnetkreis, Sekundärwicklung) dimensioniert.

Bei gepulsten Anwendungen, wie dem Widerstandsschweißen, macht man sich die Trägheit in der Erwärmung der Komponenten zu Nutze und kann daher den Transformator gezielt überlasten. Diese Überlastung ist explizit verbunden mit dem Verhältnis zwischen Stromzeit und Zeiten ohne Stromfluss. Dieses Verhältnis ist mit dem Begriff der Einschaltdauer verknüpft.

Aufgrund der quadratischen Abhängigkeit der Verluste zum Strom kann man die maximale Überlastung in Abhängkeit von der Einschaltdauer einfach berechnen. Da der Anwender für seine Schweißaufgabe einen bestimmten Strom benötigt und der Transformatorhersteller aber den Transformator auf den Dauerstrom auslegen muss, muss hier jeweils hin- oder hergerechnet werden.

I2s - Schweißstrom
I2p - Dauerstrom
X - Einschaltdauer

Wenn man einen Schweißstrom und eine Einschaltdauer hat, kann man den benötigten Dauerstrom wie folgt berechnen:

Wenn man den Dauerstrom des Transformators hat, kann man den maximalen Schweißstrom bei gegebener Einschaltdauer wie folgt berechnen.

Gern können Sie diese Rechnung in unserem Onlinerechner unter dem Reiter Schweißstrom und Dauerstrom selbst vornehmen.